Skip to main content

Faculty Service

Faculty Service and University Awards

Academic year 2022-2023

On Leave

  • Maya Boutaghou AY 2022-2023, Sesquicentennial Associateship

Department Chair and Program Directors 

  • Department Chair: Janet Horne
  • Director of Graduate Studies: Ari Blatt
  • Director of Undergraduate Studies: Jennifer Tsien
  • Language Program Director: Karen James
  • French House Director: Rachel Geer
  • Director of UVa Program in Lyon, France: Janet Horne; Cécile Rey, Associate Director.
  • Chair of Summer Courses and Director, French SLI (Summer Language Institute) : Spyros Simotas
  • Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Claire Lyu
  • Faculty Senator: Amy Ogden

University Programs

  • Medieval Studies Program, Director, Deborah McGrady
  • Premodern Cultures and Communities Certificate Director, Deborah McGrady

University Committees

  • Jennifer Tsien, Budget Committee
  • Elizabeth Hall, Committee on Educational Policy and the Curriculum (CEPC)
  • Deborah McGrady, Promotion Committee, Department of Music
  • Gary Ferguson, Provost’s Academic Strategy Committee



Graduate Studies Committee

  • Ari Blatt (DGS/Chair)
  • Deborah McGrady
  • Claire Lyu

Undergraduate Studies Committee

  • Jennifer Tsien (DUP/Chair)
  • Karen James
  • Alison Levine
  • Gladys Saunders 

Language Program Committee

  • Karen James (Chair)
  • Cécile Rey
  • Elizabeth Hall

Maison Française Planning Committee

  • Rachel Geer (Chair)
  • Jennifer Tsien (DUP)

Course Planning Committee

  • Janet Horne (Chair)
  • Ari Blatt (DGS)
  • Jennifer Tsien (DUP)                          
  • Karen James (LPD)

Lecture Committee

  • Philippe Roger (Chair)
  • Ari Blatt (DGS)
  • Jennifer Tsien (DUP)
  • Graduate student rep: Elizabeth Harper

Peer Evaluation Committee

  • Cheryl Krueger (Chair)
  • Alison Levine
  • Gladys Saunders
  • Janet Horne (ex officio)

Assessment Coordination

  • DUP, Jennifer Tsien, for undergraduate program
  • DGS, Ari Blatt, for graduate program
  • Members of Undergraduate and Graduate Studies Committees

Promotion Committee

  • Gary Ferguson (Chair)
  • Deborah McGrady
  • Philippe Roger
  • Alison Levine

First-Year Advisors

  • Ari Blatt (COLA Advisor)
  • Claire Lyu
  • Cécile Rey
  • Cheryl Krueger
  • Gladys Saunders
  • Gary Ferguson

“French Teachers for Tomorrow” ad-hoc Committee (FTFT)

  • Amy Ogden (Chair)
  • Liz Hall
  • Alison Levine
  • Spyros Simotas
  • Janet Horne (ex officio)

Phi Delta Phi Moderator

  • Jennifer Tsien (DUP)

Distinguished Major Program, Thesis Directors

  • Jennifer Tsien, director for Marina Peebles

French Department-ENS and EHESS exchange liaison: Ari Blatt

Graduate Representatives:

MA Representative:  Pierce Lockett

PhD Representative: Loren Lee

Newcomer Liaison: Oriane Guiziou-Lamour

Graduate Representative to the Mediation Committee: Paige Tierney

Diversity Equity and Inclusion Graduate Representative: Katia Bellal

GSASC Representative: Kelley Cordova


Departmental Service Assignments of Individual Faculty

Ari Blatt: Director of Graduate Studies (DGS), Graduate Studies Committee, Course Planning Committee, Graduate Program Assessment Coordinator, Lecture Committee, French Department-ENS and EHESS exchange liaison; COLA Advisor.

Maya Boutaghou: On-Leave AY 2022-23

Gary Ferguson:  First-year Advisor; Promotion Committee (Chair); Provost’s Academic Strategy Committee

Rachel Geer: French House Director

Elizabeth Hall: Language Program Committee; “French Teachers for Tomorrow” ad-hoc committee; Committee on Educational Policy and the Curriculum (CEPC)

Janet Horne: Department Chair, Course Planning Committee (Chair), Peer Evaluation Committee (ex officio); “French Teachers for Tomorrow” Ad-hoc Committee; Director, UVA in Lyon

Karen James: Language Program Director; Course Planning Committee; Undergraduate Studies Committee; Language Program Committee (Chair); Creole Coordinator

Cheryl Krueger: Peer Evaluation Committee (chair); First-year Advisor

Alison Levine: Undergraduate Studies Committee; Promotion Review Committee; Peer Evaluation Committee; “French Teachers for Tomorrow” ad-hoc committee

Claire Lyu: Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Graduate Studies Committee; First Year Advisor

Deborah McGrady: Graduate Studies Committee; Promotion Review Committee

Amy Ogden: Senator; DEI Senate Committee; Ad-Hoc French Teachers for Tomorrow Committee (Chair)

Cécile Rey: Language Program Committee; First-year Advisor; Associate Director UVA in Lyon

Philippe Roger:  Lecture Committee (Chair)

Gladys Saunders: First-year Advisor; Peer Evaluation Committee, Undergraduate Studies Committee

Spyros Simotas: Chair of Summer Courses and Director, French SLI (Summer Language Institute); “French Teachers for Tomorrow” ad-hoc Committee

Jennifer Tsien:   Director of Undergraduate Studies (DUP); Chair of Undergraduate Studies Committee; Pi Delta Phi Faculty Moderator; Undergraduate Program Assessment Coordination; Course Planning Committee; Lecture Committee; DMP thesis director.